how I rediscovered and reclaimed my spirituality


I would like to quote a story from the book called “Alcoholics Anonymous”. I want to share it, not because I wish to talk about alcohol, or addiction, but because I believe it beautifully illustrates how each one of us can find our own spiritual path, one which does not depend on any religion or the acceptance of anyone else’s creed.

There was a time when I did not know the difference between religion and spirituality, and when I felt I no longer fit with the religion I was raised with, I rejected all of it. For over ten years I considered myself an atheist. Those were ten very dark years. In 2011, I had a spiritual experience. I consider it a miracle. My mind opened up to the fact that I could believe in a spiritual purpose that did not need to agree with any preacher, holy book, or dusty baggage buried deep within my subconscious.

This whole blog, Chakra Toaster, is sort of my own personal journey of spiritual discovery. It represents the fact that my spiritual life is a living, evolving reality.

I have gone from religious, to atheist, to spiritual. I believe in Spirit guides, and we all have a unique journey. But are we really so unique?

sunfquote

Here is the story that taught me the difference between religious and spiritual:

“I had always believed in a Power greater than myself. I had often pondered these things. I was not an atheist. Few people really are, for that means blind faith in the strange proposition that this universe originated in a cipher and aimlessly rushes nowhere. My intellectual heroes, the chemists, the astronomers, even the evolutionists, suggested vast laws and forces at work. Despite contrary indications, I had little doubt that a mighty purpose and rhythm underlay all. How could there be so much of precise and immutable law, and no intelligence? I simply had to believe in a Spirit of the Universe, who knew neither time nor limitation. But that was as far as I had gone.

“With ministers, and the world’s religions, I parted right there. When they talked of a God personal to me, who was love, superhuman strength and direction, I became irritated and my mind snapped shut against such a theory.

“Despite the living example of my friend there remained in me the vestiges of my old prejudice. The word God still aroused a certain antipathy. When the thought was expressed that there might be a God personal to me this feeling was intensified. I didn’t like the idea. I could go for such conceptions as Creative Intelligence, Universal Mind or Spirit of Nature but I resisted the thought of a Czar of the Heavens, however loving His sway might be. I have since talked with scores of men who felt the same way.

My friend suggested what then seemed a novel idea. He said, “Why don’t you choose your own conception of God?”

(From the book “Alcoholics Anonymous” Chapter 1)

141_spiritualnotreligious_wide

2 thoughts on “how I rediscovered and reclaimed my spirituality”

Leave a Reply

